Week 1: Kick-Off Party

Ok. So last night was the Kick-Off Party. Not quite sure where “party” entered into the equation, as my idea of a good time don’t usually include being weighed, measured or having a super unflattering photo taken. Somehow, the FlyBarre staff actually made it a pretty enjoyable experience. I’m so excited about the Challenge, and I have to say, my team seems pretty great. The girls are all very sweet and friendly and my team leader is the National Director for the FlyBarre program – so I’m pretty sure she knows her stuff. So let’s break down last night and the week ahead.

The Good:

  • My team. My team leader. Duh.
  • The variety of participants. Honestly, I was afraid of walking into a room full of Stepford exercise girls all clad in Lululemon. I couldn’t have been more wrong. Except maybe for the amount of Lululemon. There were girls and guys of all shapes and sizes, ages and races. My fear of being the “big girl” quickly subsided. I’m still big, but I’m not so worried about it.
  • The flexibility in the program. Yes, it’s rigorous. It’s supposed to be. That’s how change is made. But it’s not so bat-shit crazy I’m going to find myself, three weeks from now, having a breakdown in a Dunkin Donuts. In fact, I hope to add on some extracurricular spin classes.
  • It’s doable. There’s a saying (although I’m not exactly sure what it is but it’s along these lines), “once you set your mind to something, you will be tested.” And boy was that the case this morning. The third email I received at work this morning announced the presence of donuts in the kitchen. You know what, I wasn’t even tempted. I’ve been so anxious about whether or not I was getting in over my head – I never stopped to think that there was no reason I CAN’T do it.That “fat girl” voice has not been my friend. I’m kicking her in the pants and taking this on!

The Bad:

  • This week. I have a previous engagement tonight. And it’s Rosh Hashanah this week, which means I’ll be heading to Philly for the holiday. I’ll be gone through Sunday evening because I have my cousin’s son’s 1st birthday party Saturday and plans with my best friend on Sunday to go watch the Eagles play at a popular Philadelphia sports bar. With all of that going on, I’m only going to be able to get in two classes. Less than optimal circumstances. I’m going to need to figure out how to get in some other activity.
  • Temptation. This week is going to be full of yummy, tempting, and less than healthy foods. I’m lucky in the fact that my mother isn’t too liberal with the butter and cream, but it is the holidays.  There will be brisket and noodle kugel and dessert. Saturday is a kids’ party. My cousin’s mother-in-law is Italian. That means lots of cheesy pasta dishes, sausage and peppers and cake. And Sunday is football at Chickie and Pete’s with some friends. Beer and bar food. Need I say more?

The Ugly:

  • My numbers. I said I was going to give full disclosure. So here goes. My weight is 175.4. My waist measures in at 41.5 inches. I’m only 5’5″. It’s not good. I have a lot of work to do.

The Goal:

  • Overall. My doctor wants me to lose 15lbs. before my next check-up, three months from now. I think I can knock out 10 of those pounds during the Challenge. I think that’s a goal I can achieve without entering bat-shit crazy territory. As for inches, I have no idea. A lot? Enough to take me from a snug size 12 to a comfortable size 10.
  • This week. I’d like to lose a pound. The OCD, Type A part of my brain doesn’t think it’s enough. The rest of my brain knows it’s a good start. With all of the goings-on this week, I think it’s a formidable challenge.

So where do I go from here? I need to figure out a plan of action to get me through the week. Luckily, I already know I’ll have an amazing support system. I’ll have to plan for these food situations that could throw me off course. I’m not going to become a crazy person who wigs out if I see a French fry. I’m not planning on giving up entire food groups or spending every free moment I have working out. There has to be a happy medium, and I’m determined to find it. I’ll be back later this week to let you know what happens.

How are you guys planning on fitting the Challenge into your life? What obstacles do you face and how do you plan to deal with them?

2 thoughts on “Week 1: Kick-Off Party

Leave a comment